Clearing out the junk.

I was moving. Which wasn’t unusual, I move a lot thanks to my husband’s work. I actually really like it, moving. I need the change and unknown. I need to discover and figure out a new place. It’s fun. One of my kids feels the same way and is constantly asking when we’re going to move again. Specifically, this child wants to move to Florida. Come winter I might be feeling the same way.

I have another child who is quite content to stay in the same house for years on end. “I want to live here until I’m in 5th grade,” my kid says. Which is not only a long time in kid years, but also a long time for our family to live anywhere. I don’t know if we’ll stay in our current house long enough for my kid to attend 5th grade here. We’ll see.

So, I was moving. And in the process of unloading all the junk I didn’t want to follow us to the next house, I found myself on Craigslist. I love Craigslist. I’ve always wanted to start a junk-finding business and sell stuff exclusively through Craigslist. Because it would be so easy. When I was a kid, my dad ran a landfill and he’d find the most random junk up there and pile it up in the garage/barn. It just sat there. For years. Now I think back to all the crap that I could have sold on Craigslist and made a decent living off of stuff people threw away. I feel like this flashback is just begging for a longer backstory…

Anyway, while selling stuff on Craigslist I wandered over to the music section. Remember, I had just turned 30 and felt like the clock was ticking if I ever wanted to get in on that rock band thing. So I started emailing bands looking for lead singers. I sent out a lot of messages. After a few dead-ends (what kind of generation is this that no one even gets back to you?!) I started beginning correspondence with potential bandmates like so:

“Are you interested in a girl as a lead singer?”

This lone sentence weeded out many a potential band before we even got to the What are Your Influences section of the application process. Because, for some crazy reason, most rock bands just don’t want a girl as their lead singer. I’m still unclear why this is the case but I’ve got a few guesses. I’ll save that for another post.

There were a few connections that didn’t work out in terms of timing and/or distance. After answering extensive questions about what kind of music I enjoyed and who my vocal role models were I was invited to audition with a cover band comprised mostly of middle-aged men and their teenage kids. Don’t get me wrong, they were a really good band. They sounded great and had a huge playlist of popular songs to choose from. It was like karaoke. I had a great time singing for the cover band. But, it was like karaoke. Fun, yes. Did it fill in that gaping hole of creativity in my soul? Not so much. I declined their invitation to join the cover band. Which turned out to be a great move because that’s when I found my Band.

And all the searching was worth it.

Leave a Reply

